Anniversaries

7 Sep

Today is the anniversary of my dad’s death – he passed away 11 years ago.  I cannot believe so much time has passed.  How quickly the years have gone by.  And yet, I remember the days/weeks/months when everything moved soooo  slowly, time seemed to be stuck in mud and every step was a huge effort.

I am sitting here at my desk.  It is almost time to go.  I had planned to go to the gym after work to take a few dance classes this evening. But all I want to do is go home and get into my pajamas and curl up on my couch.  It is rainy and cold out.  Last night I did not sleep well at all, thanks to a bout with seasonal allergies and a pesky mosquito in my bedroom!  And I have been in a cranky mood for days now (maybe even longer, if you ask around.)

Unfortunately this day will mark the loss of another loved one, an elder cousin from my mom’s side of the family. My mom was very close to him, and I was quite fond of him, too.  He was a huge help to both of us when my dad was sick.

So, I am going to go home and think about my Papi and my primo Pepe and dwell in the memories of  nicer and sunnier moments.

2 Responses to “Anniversaries”

  1. Struggling Dad September 8, 2011 at 3:08 pm #

    Hey GG,

    You know my thoughts are with you. I hope you find something cheery and fun to occupy your mind.

    Cheers, SD.

    • goyagrrl September 8, 2011 at 5:58 pm #

      Thanks SD.

      I did have a nice evening last night – quiet, relaxing, reading….and went to bed early. Today, it is sunny and bright, and I am looking forward to a three-day weekend away at a lake-house with some pals.
      How are you? Are you still in Australia? I hope you are enjoying many nice hot showers;) and good times with family and friends.
      gg

Leave a Reply

