Graduate School Blues

10 Nov

Aside from my full time job, I am also in a part-time doctoral program.  At times, I find my adventures in learning stimulating, fascinating, invigorating and well worth the time, energy and effort.

Not so much lately.  I am taking two classes – really hard, tedious, and at times mathematically complex classes.  I am feeling exhausted by all the events of the last 3 years of my life (hell, the last DECADE) and am in need of a break.

I just need to get through this semester, in order to gain some perspective.  But right now, I just wish that there were more hours in a day (and at least 10 of them could be dedicated to me sleeping!)

Any one out there pursuing professional degrees, in your 30s, while working and trying to keep all your other adult responsibilities in check, along with your sanity…how do you keep yourselves motivated?

My boss told me that she used to remind herself exactly why she was pursuing her degree, and to just take on e day at a time.  But when feeling overwhelmed, that is easier said than done.  And on top of it, even though I know why I am pursuing this, I am also like….but, so?  Can’t I just put in my 8 hours at a job, do the best I can, and go home to do fun, recreational things that do not involve statistical analysis?

2 Responses to “Graduate School Blues”

  1. The Salty Academic November 11, 2010 at 2:22 pm #

    Are you saying statistical analysis is not FUN?!?!? 🙂

    Hang in there Goya Girl. They’re not lying when they say life is a challenge. Just remember the universe is not against you. And from one self helper to another:

    “Push hard to get better, become smarter, grow your devotion to the truth, fuel your commitment to beauty, refine your emotional intelligence, hone your dreams, negotiate with your shadow, cure your ignorance, shed your pettiness, heighten your drive to look for the best in people, and soften your heart — even as you always accept yourself for exactly who you are with all of your so-called imperfections.”

    • goyagrrl November 12, 2010 at 12:53 pm #

      Hi Salty Academic (luv the name!)

      Great quote! Where is it from, and who penned it? I especially appreciate “….negotiate with your shadow…”

      That, my dear (and as you well know), is the most difficult for me.

      love you tons and thanks for the words of encouragement.
      gg

Leave a Reply

