A creepy thing happened on my way to OKCupid

14 Sep

For those lucky enough to not know this, OKCupid will send you “quiver” results – these are folks in your area that are looking to date, mate, love, hate, and/or all of the above.  My X was one of my recent “quiver” matches.  This in and of itself was annoying, but typical for these sites.  When new people “join” or reactivate their accounts, the site “matches” them to others in that geographic area.  What was disturbing was that my X put down that he was a whole 4 years younger than he actually is (41 versus his advertised 37).  The dude can get away with it, he looks like he is in his 20s, but……shudder.  And this is the creepy part.  When I met him two years ago on the very same site, he listed his age as 34 – it later came out that he was 39 on our first date.  I drank the Kool-Aid and “believed” him when he said, “oh, I must’ve made a mistake in typing in my birth year,” after I called him out on the inconsistency between his supposed age online and the year he graduated from high school.  Later on in our relationship, he admitted to the deceit, saying “it is what women are looking for.”  Ugh.  AND I continued to be with him, even after that.

Anyway, so this is what is creepy.  He went back in and AGAIN changed his age.  If he had left it alone from the last time, his age would now be 36.  The whole thing is just….sick.

Yup,  you have come a long way, baby.

Leave a Reply

