Raise High the Roof Beam Carpenters

9 Jun

A few nights ago, I pulled out my tattered copy of JD Salinger’s novel.  Earlier that day, I received an email from the X saying, once again that he would respect my request for no further contact, but that, once again, he really wanted to know exactly what led me to making the decision to end the relationship.

Enough.  I am disengaging from this whole process.  X  has to figure it out all on his own.  We all do.  No matter the content of  Seymour’s diaries or letters, or his many conversations with Muriel (his wife) or family members (Buddy, Boo-Boo, Franny, etc), we cannot truly understand his motives, or disenchantment.

All we can do for ourselves is raise high the roof beams, and walk as tall as we can through the doorways presented in life.

I wish X all the best.  I am a raising-high-roof-beams carpenter, with every one of my steps forward.

Dedicated to JD Salinger. Rest in peace.

Leave a Reply

